Well, It’s About Time We Got Some Hate Mail. . .

Posted: January 27 @ 12:30pm by scrody in Bolivian

This is late because you posted it a long time ago but I recently ran into your post about the lady who robbed a bank claiming she would infect the teller with AIDS. As a woman living with the virus, I was shocked and deeply angered by your rebuttal as it was ignorant and ill informed.

[Editor’s Note: She posted a huge chunk of the original commentary. Just click HERE to see the original post.]

While this ladies claim is outlandish and rediculous I’d like to inform you that old people, do in fact, live with AIDS/HIV as it is a disease that can be lived with for years. I know this because I have lived with it for 15 years. With the medications that we have today we have a chance at prolonged life and I know many senior citizens who live with AIDS. Being gay or black has little impact on whether or not you contract the disease and that stereotype has not been relevant since the 80’s. I am a 45 year old white heterosexual woman living with the disease. I have 3 healthy children and a husband and I did not get it from sexual intercourse. I got it from a blood transfusion. I know MANY others like myself and I encourage you to “take a fucking health class”. You know little about the virus and your ranting on the subject is extremely disheartening seeming as how you are so cocky and sure that you are educated on the subject when in fact everything you stated is not true. People living with it do not die before they reach an elderly age as we have many advances in medication these days and there is plenty of treatment available. Again, these statements that you are making are extremely outdated and are stigmas that ignorant people put on the disease out of fear in the 1980’s. Please educate yourself before you further sound like a complete idiot.

– Jenny

Hi Jenny,

Thank you for reading the blog and thanks for taking the time to respond to my post. I’m really glad you did, because it reminded me that sometimes I give the readers too much credit and tend to make my jokes a bit too subtle. I’m not sure if the fact that you took this post seriously speaks more towards my amazing writing skills, or your lack of a sense of humor. Most likely a bit of both. It seems so obvious to me now that I should have included a line about Ryan White banging a monkey in Africa. Two of the most famous 80’s HIV The Virus That Causes AIDS references and I completely omitted them. That surely would have taken my post over the top, and I never would have realized it had you not brought my attention to it. I guess hindsight is 20/20 though, right? Anyway, thanks for the positive reinforcement. I encourage you to check out some of our other posts and give us some thoughts. I’m not positive that you’ll feel as strongly about them, but some are positively hilarious. Sorry about the whole HIV The Virus That Causes AIDS thing though. That really is a shitty hand. Hope you’re staying positive. 

PS – Did you know you can cure cancer?

Comments
  1. Cracker says:

    Scrody, sometimes you take things too far man! And by too far, I mean not far enough. Instead of infuriating Jenny, we should be helping her…

Leave a Reply

