Well. . .Looks Like I’ll Be Ordering UFC 148

Posted: June 27 @ 10:00am by 610 in Bolivian

[Detroit Free Press]  The Anderson Silva that dialed in for a media call promoting UFC 148 was different than any heard before. The alternately polite, dismissive and non-communicative UFC middleweight champion was replaced by a guy who breathed fire for his opponent, Chael Sonnen, before leaving early, the smoke still clearing on his words. “First of all, Chael is a criminal,” Silva (31-4 MMA, 14-0 UFC) said through translator and manager Ed Soares. “He’s been convicted of crimes. He doesn’t deserve to be inside the octagon. And when the time comes and the time is right, I’m going to break his face and break every one of his teeth in his mouth.” But it didn’t end there — it went on and on. Every mention of Sonnen (27-11-1 MMA, 6-4 UFC), who also participated on the call, brought forth a new stream of vitriol from Silva. “I’m going to beat Chael like he’s never been beaten before. The joke is over. There’s no more talking. I know he’s on the line listening, and the game is over. I’m going to beat his ass out of the UFC. He’s never going to want to fight again after I’m done with him.” “It doesn’t matter if I’m on the bottom, the side, the top – it doesn’t matter,” Silva said when asked how he would avoid taking the damage he took in the first fight. “Chael Sonnen’s going to get his ass kicked like he’s never gotten his ass kicked before. What I’m going to do inside the octagon is something that’s going to change the image of the sport. I’m going to beat his ass like he’s never been beaten before. I’m going to make sure that every one of his teeth are broken, his arms are broken, (and) his legs are broke. He’s not going to be able to walk out of the octagon by himself. I can guarantee that. And I know that he’s listening, so the game’s over. No more [expletive]-talking. It’s on now.” Despite his come-from-behind win at UFC 117, Silva, who is ranked as the No. 1 pound-for-pound fighter in the sport, said he would make Sonnen pay for two years of trash talk. “I’m going to make him eat everything that he’s said, not only about myself, but about our country (and) about everything,” he said. “I’m going to make him pay and make sure he never disrespects any fighter. Not only Brazilian, but any fighter. I’m going to beat him maybe the way his parents should have beat him to teach him some manners. Because he’s disrespectful, he’s a criminal, and I’m going to beat him up like he’s never been beat before. He can say whatever he wants, but I’m not playing anymore.”

Yeah, you got me.  I’m in.  This isn’t your cookie-cutter WWF “whatcha gonna do when Hulkamania runs wild on you” bullshit.  This is a promise to systematically remove all teeth and limbs from an opponent’s body.  I’m not the biggest UFC guy, but there’s a couple things I know.  Anderson Silva is considered the best pound-for-pound fighter, period, who is usually all-business and conducts it all in the octagon. Chael Sonnen is a tough bastard who gets a kick out of mind-fucking his opponent with constant trash talk up until fight night.  While Sonnen is just doing his thing, though, this is clearly his best work…but when it works so well that the best fighter in the world who normally doesn’t make a peep all of a sudden says, “I’m going to make sure that every one of his teeth are broken, his arms are broken, (and) his legs are broke. He’s not going to be able to walk out of the octagon by himself. I can guarantee that.” then you gotta wonder if it was a good idea.  So one of 2 things are going to happen – either Silva is going to walk out of the ring with Chael’s arm over his head or he’s going to sloppily fight from a mental state he’s never been in and get switched off quickly.  Then Sonnen’s gonna make out with his wife.  Either way, I’ll be coughing up the coin to see it…and by “coughing up the coin” I mean “streaming it for free over the internet”.

Leave a Reply

